In this article, you will discover:
- The common points assigned for traffic convictions in Maryland.
- When to skip the call to the traffic ticket attorney and just pay the fine.
How Does The Driver’s License Point System Work In Maryland?
Every traffic charge has a number of points assigned to it in Maryland—either 0, 1, 2, 5, 8, or 12. You get the points on your license if you get a conviction.
How do you get a conviction? One of two ways: pay for the fine or be found guilty in court. At that point, it goes on your record and stays there for two years. The charge might stay there, but the points drop off after two years from the date of conviction.
Do I Need A Lawyer For Traffic Tickets In Prince George’s County?
If you get a parking ticket and the fine is $20, there’s no need to hire an attorney. It’s not going to help you out. You just pay the $20 and be done with it. If it’s much more serious than that, you should consider an attorney. It might be more affordable than you think.
For more information on Traffic Violations in Maryland, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (443) 990-1529 today.
Get Your Free Case Review!